Making a Cowl Scarf-No Knitting Required

Cowl Scarves are everywhere this season. If you would like to add one (or more) to your wardrobe, inexpensively, look no further than your own closet. I will be using the leftovers from the long knit skirt in last Friday’s blog. You, however, can use a sweater.

Here's the piece I had after cutting strips for the poncho

1.) I started by cutting the faux-pleat section from the waistband. If you are using a sweater, cut your strip double the width you want it to be when finished.

I'm sure I'll find a good use for that waistband later

2.) I had to cut at one of the seams so that I had a long strip (otherwise I couldn’t turn it right-side out). Then, just fold the right-sides together and sew the long edge. Turn right side out.

3.) Fold in the edge of one end, and stuff the other end inside of that. Stitch it shut.

Folding

Stuffing

You have now a cowl scarf. Wind it around your beautiful neck and accessorize with a just as beautiful pin.



About A Stitchy Situation

I am a busy Mother of three who has a love of crafting... mainly sewing projects. I love to share what I learn, so I hope you will love my blog!
This entry was posted in Accessories, Clothing, Re-Purposing, Tutorial, Upcycling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making a Cowl Scarf-No Knitting Required

Leave a Reply

