Too much or just right? Cozy T-Shirt for lounging.

This is the second installment of t-shirt makeovers, and we’re still dealing with the blue and black skiing tee.

Somewhere along the way I ended up with the bottom half of a gray shirt in my fabric stash. No seams…just a gray, jersey, tube. So with the top and strips of the black shirt from yesterday, and this (unaccounted for) bottom of a gray one, what else but to put them together?

Bits and Pieces

1.) Before I attach top and bottom… the gray piece was a little too big around so I took that in. I added some elastic to the top edge, sewing down the middle and then on either side of the first line for a faux shirred band.

I hemmed the bottom edge (since this is jersey material the end won’t ravel, but I opted for the hem giving it a more finished look. You may or may not want to skip this step).

2.) Sew the top and bottom pieces together,

Looking pretty nerdy right now...

3.) Modify the neckline. For a simple fix, I cut the shoulder seams an inch or two; folded the neck inwards; and stitched down.

4.) Making more ruffles. I took the pieces leftover from yesterday (and a few I got from the excess gray material), and sewed two gathering stitches down the middle.

5.) I decided to make flowers with the gray pieces. To do that, I simply pulled one gathering thread tighter than the other and wound the fabric into a rose shape. Stitch together at the bottom.

Make sure you catch all the edges so you don't have a floppy center

6.) Arrange the flowers and ruffles, and stitch down.

Pin and stitch (the flowers are hand stitched)

It’s so cozy and I like how the gray breaks up the black! What do you think…Too much ruffles or just right?

About A Stitchy Situation

I am a busy Mother of three who has a love of crafting... mainly sewing projects. I love to share what I learn, so I hope you will love my blog!
This entry was posted in Clothing, Re-Purposing, T-Shirt Makeover, Tutorial, Uncategorized, Upcycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too much or just right? Cozy T-Shirt for lounging.

  1. Emily says:

    This is adorable, I love it! I think it’s the perfect amount of ruffles – for you 🙂 I haven’t gotten into the ruffles for myself yet. I would be nervous drawing that much attention to my bustline, which is already…um…noticeable, LOL!

  2. This is a very good tip particularly to those new
    to the blogosphere. Short but very accurate info… Thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

Leave a Reply

